Aug 06 2015

Oregon Legislature Passes Paid Sick Time Law


Oregon has become the fourth state in the nation to enact a paid sick time law.  The new bill will require Oregon employers to provide either paid or unpaid sick time to their employees, depending on their location and number of employees.  Due in part to efforts by PMCA – it includes an exemption for building and construction trade employees represented by a collective bargaining agreement. 

A detailed general overview of the new statewide law can be found in the resource section of this site or by clicking here.

Employers located outside Portland city limits with ten (10) or more employees will be required to provide employees up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per year.  Employers with fewer than ten employees still must provide up to 40 hours of unpaid, job protected, sick leave per year.  Employers located inside the Portland city limits will be required to offer paid sick time if they employ six (6) or more employees – and unpaid, protected sick time if they employ fewer than six employees.

Both paid and unpaid sick time will need to accrue at a rate of at least one (1) hour for every 30 hours worked, up to a maximum of 40 hours each year.  The law also allows for an equivalent PTO policy to satisfy sick time requirements, so long as it accrues at the same rate and can be used for the same purpose.  The law includes a preemption of local sick time ordinances – and overrides the ordinances enacted by both Portland and Eugene.